Birthday dresses

image

I needed a birthday card for a girlie girl. She’s turning 16. Although she still likes horses and cute animals, they feel a bit young, I wanted something funky but mature.

I restickied my Scan n Cut mat today, and decided to have a good look through the menus and see if inspiration hit.

My card blank is a 6×6 square. The pink card stock was part of my second most recent Create and Craft club members’ free gift ( Not one I’d have chosen, but I love it, so vibrant and cuts like a dream. The black card is from my stash, as is the white. The black and white baker’s twine is from the Gorjuss range, and the paper for the origami dress is Docrafts Back to Basics.

First I found the ‘Happy birthday’. You can choose your own font, own wording and meld them, but for a teenager this preset sentiment seemed to be a nice, modern one. I cut it from black card, setting the size to 72x53mm.

Next, I looked through the preset images. The dress jumped out as being simple but effective for a teen. I cut two, one from pink (33x52mm) and one from black (31x47mm).

I like even very simple cards to have a bit of dimension and texture, so I created an origami dress from a 80×80 mm piece of grey and black paper from the Docrafts Back to Basics monochrome collection.

I wanted to keep this card young, clean and fresh, and although it was hard to stop myself finding the perfect background paper, I simply layered a 140x140mm piece of white card onto a 143×143 mm pink piece. Then I wrapped a piece of baker’s twine about 250mm down to form a washing line, fastening it to back of pink layer for neatness.

Next, I stuck the origami dress in the middle of the washing line (I was going to add pegs, but it was too fussy for the design I was going for), and attached the pink and black dresses one either side. I fixed the sentiment in the middle of the gap at the bottom, letting the tail of the y overhang the matting and layering.

I then fastened the card front to the card blank, and finally added a matt silver sequin to the ‘I’ of birthday.

3 thoughts on “Birthday dresses

  1. centralnyscrapper

    Stunning. I adore the origami folded dress and the sentiment is perfect. I love that funky font. I have something similar in stamps and metal dies, but having it welded from your machine would make me use that font more often.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

